Book Review: Whiplash (Rust Chronicles #1) by Morgan Quaid

Book Details:

Author: Morgan Quaid
Release Date: 
8th November 2021
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Dystopian Fiction
Series: Rust Chronicles (Book #1)
Format: E-book 
Pages: 322 pages
Publisher: Markosia Enterprises
Blurb:
Are you ready to fight?
Abducted in the dead of night by a mountainous thug and a ginger-haired dwarf, eighteen-year-old Jack Flint is taken to an underground bunker where he and a group of other teens are forced to fight an implacable enemy in a dream world rife with danger.
Whiplash is a fast-paced story set with a rich and intricately detailed fantasy world where nightmarish creatures from the world of dreams threaten the waking world and teens with the ability to lucid dream must fight in a war for humanity’s survival. Above the throng, powerful demigods vie for control while Jack and his companions struggle to find a path out of the madness.
Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games, The Maze Runner, Divergent and Ender’s Game.


Review

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Whiplash by Morgan Quaid, the first book in the Rust Chronicles series, is a highly imaginative, original and entertaining story.

After a long time, I’ve finally found a young adult book that was actually as good as the blurb suggested. This book has rich characterisation and a brilliant world-building that made this book a memorable read. I loved to read about each and every character and was able to relate to most. The world-building was explained well and the concept’s execution was done very cleverly creating a strong base for the readers for the next books to come in this series.

I enjoyed this book a lot and would definitely recommend it to all YA, Fantasy and Dystopian fiction readers.


You can also read this review on:

Goodreads


Amazon


Book Review: The Oncoming Revolution by Sam Mansourou

Book Details:

Author: Sam Mansourou
Release Date: 
20th October 2021
Genre: Non-Fiction, Socio-Political
Series:
Format: E-book 
Pages: 50 pages
Publisher:
Blurb:
Author Mansourou ignores the left-right discourse and targets the ruling class as he calls for united civic action against the current paradigm maintained by the elite’s media, politicians and academia.


Review

Rating: 4 out of 5.

The Oncoming Revolution: Overcoming The Current Paradigm by Sam Mansourou is an essay-esque book about the current socio-political conditions in the world around us. The subject matter and the topics covered in this book by the author are not just confined to a particular country or continent, but is applicable and is relevant to each and every place I can possibly think of in this world.

The author’s writing style is very refined and the ideas presented did not, in the least, sound preachy which seems to be the go-to style for most political writers these days; on the contrary, the author’s views came across in a very graceful and elegant way as he first puts across his thoughts in a neutral form and then goes on to explain why he thinks what he thinks.

I’d recommend this book to readers interested in socio-political conversations and who enjoy reading non-fiction on politics and finding reasonable solutions to the problems faced by the world around us, especially the oligarchy countries.


You can also read this review on:

Goodreads


Amazon