10997415

Author: Russell Brooks 
Release: November 11, 2013
Series: Ridley Fox/Nita Parris Spy Series 
Genre: Spy | Thriller | Short Stories
Edition: Kindle
Pages: 573 (30 pages)
Publisher: Self-Published
Source: Author
Buy it here: Amazon

Blurb

For fans of Barry Eisler and Robert Ludlum. A three-course story collection with a side-order of revenge. 

Crème Brûlée 

Rogue operative, Monique Beauvais, cons a software genius into selling her a coveted technology that would allow its user to control CIA drones while they’re in flight. And she will go as far as killing him in public in order to have it.

To the Last Bite 

A renowned food critic–whose scathing reviews have closed down restaurants–gets a savoury surprise.

Shashlyk and Morezhenoe 

CIA operative, Ridley Fox, leads a team against one of Russia’s most powerful crime families. He discovers secrets, but not one that he was expecting to find.

Three stories with three consequences. All containing three Unsavory Delicacies.

***Caution*** Readers are strongly advised NOT to eat while reading To The Last Bite.

Rating

2-stars

Review

Plot/Story:

In this book there are three very short stories. It had a hint of the style I liked in Brook’s first book, but other than that these short stories didn’t click well with me and if I could I would give it 1 star. I am truly sorry.

Crème Brûlée
The first story was too tacky and predictable.

To the Last Bite
The second story had a hint of surprise in it and just because of it. I think it was better than the rest.

Shashlyk and Morezhenoe
The third story was my least favorite of all three, even with the return of the Fox from the first book.

Cover Art:

Is very plain and didn’t match the stories inside the book at all, but I would say that the cover over Goodreads is beautiful and fits nicely with the vibes of this book.

Blurb:

I like the blurb as it was vague enough and has a nice hint of what to come in the book.

You can also read this review at Goodreads and Amazon.

Other Stuff

Opening Line: “So what do you have for me?” Monique Beauvais said to Curtis White, speaking with a French-Canadian accent.
Highlights: I liked the somewhat surprise in the second story. I thought of something similar, but not quite

Lowlights: I thought the short stories were too tacky and I didn’t like the writing style here at all.

Final Thoughts: If you read the first book of Brooks, I would say skip this one as it has no importance to the first book’s plot. Even though I didn’t like much these short stories, I am still looking forward reading his third book in this series.


Review contributor:

pics copy 2Galit Balli

I am an avid reader, coffee addict, a writer and a blogger. I am a bit of agoraphobic (people scare me, lol). Me and my hubby love to spend every moment together, we even game together.

I live mostly in my own imaginary world full of dragons, magic and vampires and from time to time I pull myself away to deal with the real world.

Read more about Galit here.

Advertisements

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Unsavory Delicacies (Ridley Fox/Nita Parris Spy Series #2)

Feel free to share your thoughts...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s